top of page

Teacher Spotlight March 2019

This month’s teacher spotlight is Kathryn Shea of Box Elder District! Kathryn has been in

the classroom for 23 years. Kathryn relayed a heart warming story of a student named Anthony, who was her true inspiration in becoming a teacher. They had a special bond, and he even attended her college graduation (photo featured)! When asked what the most rewarding part of teaching is, Kathryn responded enthusiastically, “THE KIDS!!! I love the relationships I build with my kids. I love watching them grow and learn…even after they leave my classroom. Once they are in my class, they are my kid forever!”


Her nominator described her as a loving and patient educator, “Katie is a mathematical

wizard. She never fails when it comes to teaching her students math, and she often is tasked with helping clarify questions for team members as well!” Kathryn loves to help kids go from “I am not good at math” to “I can do math and math is FUN!” She encourages her students to see math in different ways, and discover what works for them. She is a firm believer in “Visualize not Memorize” and if kids can make a picture in their head, they can solve the problem.


When she is not teaching, Kathryn loves spending time with her animals. She has a dog

(photo featured) and three cats. She also enjoys making things out of paper, cooking, and baking.


The Utah State Board of Education would like to thank Kathryn for

her compassion towards her students and dedication to helping kids learn and excel in math.

81 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Teacher Spotlight
Lindsey
STEM
resources
tales from
bottom of page